A CDL is required of drivers, paid or volunteer, who drive the following types of vehicles:
Class A – Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicleweight rating, GVWR, of 26,001 pounds or more, provided the GVWR of the vehicle or vehicles being towed is in excessof 10,000 pounds.
Class B – Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more, and any such vehicle towing a vehicle with a GVWR not in excess of 10,000 pounds.
Class C – Any vehicle not described in Class A or B above but is: Designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver; or used in the transportation of hazardous materials that require the vehicle to be placarded under C.F.R., Part 172, Subpart F.
You do not need a CDL to drive RECREATIONAL VEHICLES, MILITARY EQUIPMENT, FIRE and/or EMERGENCY EQUIPMENT, or CERTAIN FARM VEHICLES
Drivers with a Commercial Driver’s License of CDL face a tough time in North Carolina when dealing with traffic violations. For instance, based on federal law, a prayer for judgment continued (PJC) is not available. Moreover, CDL driver’s may find that their employers have strict rules regarding how many tickets an employee may receive before losing his or her job. We are familiar with the special needs of CDL drivers and are ready to assist you.
You will lose your CDL:
– For at least 60 days if you have committed 2 “serious traffic violations” within a 3-year period.
– For at least 120 days for 3 ‘€serious traffic violations’ within a 3-year period.
“Serious traffic violations” are:
– Excessive speeding (15 mph or more above posted speed).
– Reckless driving.
– Following too close.
– Erratic lane changes.
– Traffic offenses committed in a CMV in connection with fatal traffic accidents.
– Driving a CMV without obtaining a CDL.
– Driving a CMV without having a CDL in your possession.
– Driving a CMV without the proper class of license or the proper endorsement.
There are now minimum limits of insurance requirements for commercial motor vehicles licensed in North Carolina, whether interstate or intrastate, private or “For Hire” in the amount of $750,000.
If you have a traffic ticket you would like to discuss with us please call 919-729-9000 for a free consultation and get a raleigh traffic ticket lawyer for your case.
-The court system can double any fine for operators of commercial motor vehicles that violate motor vehicle laws in which points are assessed.
– There will be an increase in the number of points assessed to your driving record for motor vehicle law violations including
railroad crossing violations and possession of an alcoholic beverage while operating a CMV.
The following Points are given for conviction of violations while operating a commercial motor vehicle:
|Passing a stopped school bus||8|
|Rail-highway crossing violation||6|
|Hit and run, property damage only||5|
|Following too closely||5|
|Driving on wrong side of road||5|
|Running through stop sign||4|
|Speeding more than 55 mph||4|
|Failure to yield right of way||4|
|Running through red light||4|
|No driver license or expired for more than one year||4|
|Failure to stop for siren||4|
|Driving through safety zone||4|
|No liability insurance||4|
|Failure to report accident where such report is required||4|
|Possessing alcoholic beverage in the passenger area of a commercial motor vehicle||4|
|All other moving violations||3|
|Littering involving the use of the motor vehicle||1|
If you hold a commercial drivers license (cdl) and have been charged with a traffic offense please give me a call to discuss your case. I have over 20 years experience in resolving these cases. I am aware of the possible affects on your employment and insurance.