Most tickets require that you appear either personally or through an attorney. In some cases you may be able to pay the ticket online, however, if you do this then you are pleading guilty to the charge and you may end up finding your insurance has gone up by doing so. If you retain our firm to handle your case we can appear for you in court and make sure you get the best result possible.
Yes. In North Carolina your license will be revoked if you are convicted of speeding over 15mph above the limit and the convicted speed is over 55mph. However, our NC traffic attorneys are experienced in finding ways to help you keep your license. During our free consultation with you we will discuss how to put your case in the best possible light in order to keep your license and protect your insurance.
There is a compact between the states that will likely result in your home state seeing the NC conviction. However, the laws of your home state will treat the conviction differently than a person with a NC license. If you retain our firm to handle your case we will examine the laws of your home state to determine the probably affect that the North Carolina traffic citation will have on you.
Contact us today at 919-729-9000 for a free consultation with an attorney. We are ready to answer any questions you might have about your ticket.
If you fail to appear for the out-of-state ticket then your license will be blocked on the national registry and you will be unable to renew your license. If you are convicted of an offense out-of-state that is a revocable offense in NC i.e. speeding 81 in a 65 zone then your license will be revoked here as if you received the ticket in NC. Other offenses may cause an insurance increase depending on your insurance company and how the ticket shows on your record. If you are revoked for an out-of-state ticket you may be eligible for a hearing to prevent your license from being suspended.
In January 1, 2012 a new North Carolina law went into effect that requires officers to arrest any 16 or 17 year old who carries a learner’s permit or a provisional license if that person is charged with a criminal moving violation. Along with this arrest there is an automatic license suspension for thirty days regardless of whether the teen is convicted of the offense. Not all officers enforce this law when faced with the situation of arresting a teenager. However, the law acts a strong deterrent for young drivers.
The answer depends on the original speed, your record in the past three years, the record of those in your household, and how your ticket is handled. The basic rule is that each individual is allowed one speeding ticket 10mph of less above the speed limit every three years and every household is allowed one Prayer for Judgment (PJC) every three years. Our NC traffic lawyers have handled NC traffic violations for individuals across North Carolina and by calling us you can determine if getting a lawyer is right for you.
A prayer for judgment is a special disposition whereby the court suspends the operation of the sentence. A PJC is not considered a conviction for license purposes and DMV will accept two PJCs every five (5) years. The PJCs will show on the record with zero license points. However, insurance companies must only exempt from insurance points one PJC per household every three (3) years. Knowing the difference between license and insurance points is important. If you wish to discuss these matters with us please feel free to give us a call at 919-729-9000.
To discuss these questions or other questions or to go over your options with one of our lawyers call 919-729-9000 or you can chat with us by clicking the chat link or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.